ThE Certified College Funding Specialist™ DESIGNATION is the MOST RECOGNIZED college financial planning certification in the financial industry.

The CCFS® (Certified College Funding Specialist™) designation has been recognized by FINRA and the Certified Financial Planner CFP® Board of Standards for continuing education credit.  The CCFS® designation not only separates you from every other financial advisor, it also separates you from others that call themselves ‘'college planners”.

Step 1

Sign Up

The CCFS® is only $195 per month. To sign up for the CCFS® go here .


Step 2

Access the CCFS® courses in the "For Members" Area

Once you've registered and paid, you can access your courses by going to the "For Members" Area of the website. Please allow up to 24 hours for access (especially if you signed up late at night or over the weekend). Once you are in the members area, click the COURSES link.

Select the CCFS® CERTIFICATION Course.

Then click "Start Course" to begin.


Step 3

Access the Sections

There are sixteen Sections, each section has a lesson and then an exam based on the lesson. You can not proceed to the next section until you have completed and passed the previous section. There is no final exam.Sections are listed below:

The 16 Sections are:

  • Introduction
  • Code of Ethics
  • Admissions
  • Financial Aid Basics
  • Financial Aid Formulas
  • Financial Aid Income
  • Financial Aid Assets
  • Household Information
  • Sources of Financial Aid
  • Financial Aid Forms and Procedures
  • Appealing Financial Aid Awards
  • Education Tax Incentives
  • Other Tax Strategies for Education
  • Coverdell Education Savings Accounts
  • Qualified Tuition (529) Plans
  • Other Savings Accounts

Step 4

Complete all Sections.

After each Lesson, there is a test. You need to pass the test with 70% or better to complete the Section.


Step 5

Download the Certificate.

Once you have completed all the sections, you will be able to access and download your certificate.